Vielä muutama sana järjestäjiltä

Warhammer 5th edition

Quetions & Answers

Seuraavat vastaukset ovat WD:n Q&A-palstalta, uusituista armybookeista, GW:n Studiolta muuta kautta saatuja tai muuten vaan niin yleisiä kysymyksiä, että olemme pykänneet vastauksia välttyäksemme toistuvien kysymysten laumalta. On siellä jotain uuttakin, vilkaiskaa siis toki.

Is a regiment's standard captured if the enemy is wiped out to a last man in hand-to-hand combat?

Yes, as long as the victorious regiment would have normally been able to pursue the unit (not engaged in combat with another regiment, for example). If so, the standard is lost.

If a Necromancer, who is not immune to psychology, is leading a unit of Undead that is, does he still have to take break tests and where does he go if he fails?

Characters who join a unit which is immune to psychology, break test or whatever are still subject to the psychology rules themselves. If they are forced to flee they will run away as normal, the rest of the unit will remain where it is. Ja näinhän siis Vampire Counts-armeijat eivät toimi, vaan oman kirjansa sääntöjen mukaan.

When a cannon fires and the shot lands in front of a Disc of Tzeentch, does the shot bounce up and hit the Disc?

Yes, riding a Disc of Tzeentch doesn't imbue a character with a mystical protection from cannons, in the same way that models which fly can also be hit.

In Warhammer, can a character on their own charge in any direction you like?

What if they are mounted, or riding a monster?

Just like everybody else, characters can only charge a target they can see. In Warhammer, regiments and individual models can only see 90 degrees to their front, so if a unit is outside this arc they are safe.

With a Daemonette riding a Steed of Slaanesh, which Toughness value do you use? Is it the Daemonette's Toughness 3 or the Steed's Toughness 4?

As with any cavalry model, only the mount's Movement is used unless it has its own attacks, in which case its Attacks and Weapon Skill characteristics are also used. The Steed of Slaanesh's higher Toughness confers no benefit to its rider and is given for comparative purposes.

Is it possible to get an armour saving throw better than 1+?

No! Anything (ie magic items, wargear, steeds, etc) which increases a model's armour save can never

increase it to greater than 1+, under any circumstances whatsoever. (With one exception, of course.)

If I have no wizards (or other spell casters) in Warhammer, do I still get dealt Magic cards?

Yes you do.

Do units held by the Net or Hold Fast spells take panic tests?

As there isn't any rule to cover this situation, we suggest you apply the following maxim: they don't take panic tests but if they lose a round of hand-to-hand combat and are broken, they are automatically destroyed.

Does a Wizard using a Book of Ashur gain any special abilities associated with the spell decks, like High Magic and Necromantic Magic?

No, the Book of Ashur simply allows access to High and Necromantic magic. The Wizard will not become a Necromancer or a High Magician.

Tämä tulkinta korvaa Warhammer Magicin selostuksen siitä, kuka on 'High Magic User', 'Necromancer' etc jaon siis merkittävä sääntömuutos. Sanotaan nyt vielä sekin, että Crown of Sorcery antaa kaikki Undead-kirjan mukaiset Necromancerin ominaisuudet ja Talisman of Hoeth High Magen ominaisuudet ja ei, niihin ominaisuuksiin ei kuulu lisää magic item-paikkoja. Ei.

If a character is armed with both the Executioner's Axe and the Helm of Many Eyes, does he always strike first?

This is one of those classic contradictions which is very easily resolved by using the "Irresistible Force and Immovable Object" rule, or, to put it another way, roll a dice for it!

There are three things that allow a unit to strike first in the first turn: Charging, Special Abilities (like Skaven Assassins), and Special Magic Items (Helm of Many Eyes). In subsequent turns, it would be Initiative, and the latter two. Then there are double-handed weapons too....When situations come up like this, who would go first?

Roll a D6 each time a situation comes up. Magic items will always take precedence over non-magic abilities though.Where magic items entitle both sides to strike first then the card usually includes a note to the effect that the highest initiative takes priority, resorting to a dice roll where this is equal. Consider this as a general rule in such cases.

There are some monsters not listed in the new Battle Book Bestiary which appear in other books IE.,

Lammasu, Great Taurus, etc. Are they subject to the Bound rules (like, say, a Wyvern), or not Bound (like a Dragon)?

Assume all dragons are not subject to the Bound Monster Rules, but all other monsters not covered in the Beastiary are subject to them.

Hippogriffs are given different point values in different sources. Which value is correct.

145 points is correct in all cases.

A model charges down from Flying High to attack a model that causes Terror. The charging model fails its Terror Test. What does it do?

It lands on the ground where it was intending to & flees 3D6", towards their starting table edge if possible. The unit that was charged does not get to pursue.

Resolving attacks w/ units on flying stands. What is the base width of the flying stand? Do you assume that any models forward of the edges of the stand are "in contact" with the enemy, or is it the models in _actual_ physical contact (actually touching the flying stand)?

We roughly place the models into a line as close as we can, then assume the unit stretches between the extremities of the bases.

If the general is flying high and dies, does the army need to panic?

Yep! The sight of your general plummeting from the skies, a bloody wreck of flesh, is too much for most troops to bear!

Laid to Rest: In a Challenge, what determines who attacks first?

It's worked out as for a normal attack (charger goes first, unless he has a 2 handed weapon, etc).

When a template hits a unit in combat or a chariot, there are special rules that make it different from normal shooting. Even though cannons have no physical template, should the up to 10" path of the cannon be taken as a template?

This is a good one! It's not strictly covered in the rules, but around the offices and in the studio we take the pathof a cannon to be one long template. If in doubt, imagine the template to be the width of a range ruler or normal tape measurer (about one quarter inch wide) and as long as the path the ball takes from its initial bounce to the point it comes to rest. If the path crosses, for example, two horses and the yoke of a chariot, then roll to wound each horse and the chariot.

In the commentary on the rules (page110) it says that rank bonus is lost for the entire combat if the unit is flanked. If I lap round, thus negating my opponent's rank bonus, and he later beats me (forcing me to get my "lappers" back into formation),is his rank bonus still gone for the duration of the combat?

There's a bit of a misunderstanding here. Ranks bonus is only negated when a unit is actually charged in the flank, not merely when a unit is lapped round. Be sure to read the book carefully. Distinctions like this are often present, but overlooked.

In Warhammer, because of modifiers to the hand to hand to hit roll and other circumstances such as

defending an obstacle, an attacker could require a to hit roll of 7+ or more. Does this mean that the defender cannot be hit?

This is a situation that did not come up in any play testing and so was left out of the rules in the interest of space. Since then, a number of magic items have been introduced which could make it impossible to strike blows against a model. If this situation comes up, use the shooting rules to hit. Therefor, a model which would only be hit on a 7+ (impossible on a d6), a 6, followed by a further 4+ is required. See page 28 of the Rulebook for a more detailed explanation.

Daemons are said to have magical attacks that can effect models that can normally only be hit by magic weapons. Are other creatures that have "magical" attacks able to do the same? Dryads are a good example of this.

No. Only attacks which are specifically detailed as being able to affect creatures like ghosts, wraiths, and the like are able to do so. A bit of background that describes the attack or model as magical just isn't enough.

Is there anything stopping an allied character from joining a unit from the main army?

There is a strong smell of cheddar here! While there is nothing technically stopping this, it was never the intention of the rules to allow this. Normally when players do this it is with the idea of trying to get around some other rule. Be warned! If players in your group are doing this, they probably have some other, not quite illegal tricks up their sleeves.

Orcs and Goblins

If I use the Orks' Waaagh magic spell Hand Of Gork to move a Night Goblin regiment containing Fanatics so that it ends up within 8" of an enemy unit, when and how do the Fanatics emerge?

The question comes about because the rules state that "Whatever the situation, whether it is your or your opponent's turn, as soon as the enemy approach within 8" you declare that your Fanatics are coming out! All movement is halted immediately. If a moving enemy has triggered the Fanatics then the enemy unit is halted at 8" away". The problem is, of course, that in the circumstances described above, the two units are never exactly 8" apart...

Sometimes a situation arises when it is impossible to release the Fanatics while the two units are exactly 8" apart. For example, a flying model may swoop down from flying high and appear next to the Goblins, or the Goblins may be transported across the battlefield by the Hand of Gork spell and appear closer than 8" to an enemy unit.

Under such circumstances you should place the Fanatics on the table after the magically teleporting unit, diving creature, or whatever, has been placed.

Normally you would now nominate the direction the Fanatics are heading in, and resolve their movement. However, if the unit triggering the Fanatics (or the Goblins holding them) suddenly appear, then roll the Scatter dice to see which direction they move in, instead of choosing where you want them to head. The Fanatics still move 2D6", but do so in the direction indicated by the Scatter dice. This represents the fact that the Fanatics are so disorientated by the sudden appearance of the enemy that they set off too quickly and lose all sense of direction immediately (though they don't have much of one to lose)!

If the Fanatics' random move takes them into an enemy unit then they will cause damage as normal, and they will also damage any friendly unit they smash into (for those of you who don't know, each Fanatic that hits a unit inflicts D6 S5 hits with no armour saving throw allowed!). The only exception to this is if the random move takes a Fanatic back through its own unit. In this case the Fanatic passes through its own unit without causing any damage - it's assumed that the Fanatic actually launched himself out of the other side of the unit and headed off in completely the wrong direction from the start! Note that if a Fanatic smashes into its parent unit later, then it will damage the unlucky Gobbos as normal.

I have a question about Warhammer Snotling pump wagons. Are they affected by psychology, or are they immune like normal Snotling bases?

Snotling pump wagons have a crew of a single Snotling stand for the purposes of fighting and taking wounds, but they are not affected by the Mimic rules. This is pretty obviously really, as it would stop the pump wagon moving freely. The rules state that the pump wagon acts like any other chariot except where noted, which means they cannot march move (their movement is random anyway) they are subject to psychology and must take break tests as normal.

My friend's Snotling Pump Wagon seems to have a mind of its own, manoeuvring all round the battlefield during their move. Can they really do this?

No, Pump Wagons always move in a straight line. You can turn them in the direction you want them to go in at the start of their move but no manoeuvring beyond that!

If a Night Goblin Shaman is more than 12" away from an Orc or Goblin Mob and gobbles a piece of

mushroom does he still have to make a Waaagh! test to control the magic?

With no units within 12", the dice roll needed to pass a Waaagh! test is 1, so it's impossible to fail. As stated, eating mushrooms does not increase your chances of failing Waaagh! test (only the consequences if you do!). This means that by eating mushrooms alone (no units within 12"), your Night Goblin Shaman cannot fail his Waaagh test so there isn't really any point in taking one.

Orc and Goblin units can have Black Orc Big Bosses as leaders. Can they include Black Orc Bosses as well?

No. Bosses are always of the same race as the unit. This, however does not stop you from putting Black Orc Big Bosses or War Bosses in units of other types of Greenskins.

I've noticed that there are Savage Orc Boyz models available with spears, but you can't buy spears for them in the army list. Can they have spears or not?

We've now added spears to the Savage Orc Boyz listing in the current army book. You can now give spears to Savage Orcs at a cost of +1 points per model.

Can a Giant pluck a man-sized guy off of other bits (monsters, chariots, Screaming Bell, horse, Juggernought, Disc of Tzeentch)?

No. Any model which is all one thing, all one model, is not able to be affected by this attack. A crewman for a cannon or similar war machine could be picked out, but a crewman on a chariot cannot be.

Can an Orc/Goblin army have more than one Warlord? There is no "1" noted by the title as in other books...

No, just 1.

For special Goblin units that state a "Goblin Mobz" unit must be taken to take the special unit (like Doom Divers), would anything but "vanilla" gobbos count? Or would say a Night Gobbo unit count?

Only regular Gobbos. Which includes Wolf Boyz.

Dark Elves

Much to our dismay there were a few minor errors in Warhammer Armies - Dark Elves, which slipped through the editing net. To set the record straight here are the corrections:

In several places the text for the Cauldron of Blood states that it is tended by a Hag Queen, called the Keeper of the Cauldron. Note however, the Keeper actually has the profile of a Witch Elf Champion, nor may she take a Magic Item as the Cauldron of Blood is enough...

There are several differing profiles for the Har Ganeth Executioners in the Bestiary, Army List and Reference section. The correct profile for Har Ganeth Executioners is different from other Dark Elf elite troops and should be:

M WS BS S T W I A Ld

554 4 3 1 6 1 8

The rules on page 54 state that you may include up to one Repeater Bolt Thrower for each regiment of ten or more "Dark Elf Warriors or Black Ark Corsairs". This should also include Spearmen, Crossbowmen and City Guard.

In my copy of the Dark Elf book, the Repeater bolt thrower costs 50 points but it costs 100 points in my opponents High Elf Book. Why the difference?

The original cost of the Repeater bolt throwers (50 points) has proven to be far too cheap over the years, so when the new High Elf book was released, we decided to correct the point costs of both Dark Elf and High Elf bolt throwers at the same time. As we reprint the Dark Elf book the new cost will be of 100 points (and cheap at twice the price!)

The Blood Banner

The Blood Banner Magic Standard is listed as having a points value of 50. This should be amended to a points value of 10!

Can a Dark Elf Corsair Champion be given a Sea Dragon Cloak?

The Sea Dragon Cloak was missed off the Equipment List. It should be available (for Corsair Champions only) at a cost of 5 points.

What is the correct Leadership for a Harpy? Is it 8 as stated in the Chaos army list, or 6 as stated

elsewhere?

6.

Skaven

What happens to a Giant Rat/Rat Ogre unit when you lose enough Packmasters to get below the 6-1 ratio?

Nothing, aside from the leaderless Giant Rats/Rat Ogres having to use their own Leadership if all Packmasters are dead!

Do Skaven Plague Censer Bearers have to test to see if they are poisoned by their censers every turn, or just when they are in combat?

Only when they're in combat.

Can Skaven Plague Censer Bearers have Champions?

No.

Is a shot from a Skaven Warpstone Jezzail considered to be magical?

Yes it is. The same goes for all Skaven warpstone weaponry including jezzails, warpfire thrower, assassin weeping blades, warplock pistol, poison wind globes, plague censers, and warp lightning from a Doomwheel.

Wood Elves

Is the Dryads save modifiable by shooting, hand-to-hand combat, etc.?

There are effectively two types of save. First is the 'Armour save', which can be modified and the second is the 'Special save' which isn't modified. Dryads have a Special save.

Wood Elf Glade Riders do a Feigned Flight, but result in running off the board, ditto Pursuers. Are the Glade Riders then destroyed? We can't think of how to bring them back onto the board with out the Pursuing unit touching them, as the Riders can't move from the spot when they are normally placed back on the board.

Strictly speaking, they aren't fleeing, so they are not destroyed. I would place the Glade Riders 1" from the pursuers on the table edge on their return.

Wardancers using Storm of Blades. Do all of members of the unit get to attack the designated enemy, or just the ones who are actually touching the enemy unit?

Only those in base contact.

High Elves

Do White Lions get their normal attacks in addition to their special attack or is it that their special attack is their attack?

White Lions still roll 1 die to attack regardless of which of their special attacks they are using.

Bretonnia

What are the Laws of Chivalry as they apply to losing the Blessing of the Lady of the Lake? Or can the Blessing simple never be lost?

The latter - the Bretonnian player is assumed to have demonstrated sufficiently chivalrous behavior already.

In the Bretonnian lance formation, who is considered to be actually touching the foe? We know that the outer edge can attack, but does this mean that, since the models themselves are not in contact things like the Talon of Death will not work? Would it be best to assume that the models who got to attack the enemy are considered to be touching the enemy ahead of them?

Yes, assume any figures in combat are in base to base contact for all purposes.

Undead

Does the -1 to hit a Zombie Dragon in combat apply to its rider as well?

Yes. A model which is in contact with the Zombie Dragon is taken to be fighting it. Therefore, the -1 to hit applies to any attack the model makes for as long as he remains in contact with the beast.

The Undead Book explains the Necromancy spells in greater detail than Warhammer Magic. Curse of Years does not affect non-living targets. Summoning spells can raise catapults and fix chariots (good thing too with the low toughness!). Warhammer Magic makes no mention of this. Are the expanded entries in the Undead Book still valid?

Yes, unless they contradict Warhammer Magic. This means that catapults can still be raised and the Vermin Lord is safe from the Curse of Years. You Undead players should be good sports and let your opponents read your book!

Spell Allocation for the Undead: Undead Wizards can draw from 3 different decks (Battle, Dark,

Necromantic). What are their options? Draw _all_ spells from 1 deck. Aside from the Beastmen Shamans, all wizards draw spells from a single deck.

When summoning undead, 5 models must be created to form a new unit. Cavalry count as 2 models. Does this mean I need to roll a 10 on the dice, or just 6 (to see how many I summon)?

In this case, the number needed is 10. You must be able to summon at least 5 complete models, not just 5 "models worth." Cavalry count as two models, so a roll of 10 still only gets you 5 models, but 5 must be summoned. Screaming Skull Catapults and chariots are exceptions. You need only summon one complete model (including its crew) to succeed in summoning new catapults and chariots.

Empire

Flagellants, halflings, Empire dwarfs, and ogres have no champions. Can a human champion who is properly armed and equipped join these units and lead them?

In theory yes, as long as the champion is able to select all the required equipment that the unit he is leading has. Some unscrupulous players may try to use this rule to give some hideous advantage to these troops that was never intended. While it is technically legal game play, it should be discouraged.

Do the rules about a detachment using parent unit leadership scores apply to skirmished detachments? That is to say, can a skirmished bow detachment use the Ld of a parent Halberd unit?

No. Skirmishers are totally unable to benefit from the Leadership value of nearby detachments. Their scattered and hectic formation is not well suited to being commanded by others.

Detachments for the Empire: Wording states the detachment may take any Ld based tests on the Ld value of the parent regiment, including any bonuses that apply for standards, magic items, & so forth. Does this mean "bonuses" to the value (like the Crown of Command raising the value to 10) or to all attendant special effects that in some way relate to Ld? (ala the Dread Banner - would it make the Detachment also cause Fear as well? Magic Items that directly effect the Leadership of the main unit will also affect the detachment units. Only the numerical leadership value applies to the splinter units in a detachment. Other factors affecting the leadership of the parent unit including banners, fear, etc. will make no difference. Other items will not affect other detachment units as the detached units are considered to be separate units for all other purposes. If the parent unit has the Crown of Command, detached units can use the Ld of 10, but it will be modified as normal. Only the actual parent unit with the Crown gets the unmodified 10 Ld.

Dwarves and Dwarven Runes

Can the Master Rune of Flight pick out characters in units?

Yes. Nasty indeed!

Do Engineering runes make the war machine they are on magical?

Yes. This really should be a house rule only and should be agreed upon prior to the game.

Tässä turnauksessa ovat maagisia.

Do Engineering runes make the shots of war machines they are on magical?

The Rune of Burning does, yes. In all other cases no. As above, this should really be a house rule.

Tässä turnauksessa pelataan näin.

Are war machines with Runes on them "Magic Weapons?"

No. Even if your group or club agrees that the machines are to be treated as magical in nature, they should not be treated as "magic weapons." This means that other magic items which negate magic weapons will not negate or destroy these war machines.

Can the sword of destruction negate Engineering Runes?

Yes. The Sword of Destruction is not specific to magic weapons, so that is fine. Again, this assumes you play by the house rule that runes make a war machine itself magical.

The Dwarf Flame Cannon is listed as having a range of both 12" and 24". Which is correct?

12".

The Dwarf Rune of Warding seems to give multiple dispels (one per ward). Is this correct, or does the

overall rule of no more than 1 dispel allowed overrule that?

It is an exception - I would perform this type of dispel by rolling all the dice for the runes all at once (ie., 3 dice for 3 runes of warding), so that it still "feels" like a single dispel.

Dwarf dispells: Against regular magic, the "base" value is a 4+.

Against High Magic spells, is it still a 4+ or is it 5+?

4+

Same subject - can Dwarfs add power cards to boost their dispells?

Yes, just like any other army in the situation without any Wizards.

Chaos

In the new Realm of Chaos supplement, Hellblades are described as causing d3 hits in one place and d3 wounds in another. Which is correct?

D3 Wounds. (bloody editorial mistake!).

How many Wounds does a Chaos Hound have?

Just the one.

What is the correct Leadership for a Harpy? Is it 8 or 6?

6.

In the new Realm of Chaos supplement the description for the Chaos Reward Breathe Fire states that it is used "in the same way as a dragon." Does this mean it can be used in hand to hand combat?

Yes. A follower of Chaos with this reward is "naturally" able to breath his flaming attack. He does not have a clumsy bow or other missile weapon to fiddle with and can just open up and say "ahhhh!"

The Crush attack of a Juggernought is phrased a bit differently than other "no save" attacks or attacks which "automatically wound." Does the wound inflicted bypass both the toughness roll and the armor save roll?

Yes. Such is the might of the Crush that no body or suit or army can withstand its fury!

Lizardmen

Can Salamanders Move & Fire? Ditto Stand & Shoot as a Charge Response?

Yes for both. Remember that standing & shooting is worked out before chargers move, or as soon as they move into range.

Is there any sort of governing/guiding principle for the number of skinks on a stegadon?

As long as each Skink has enough space to stand up then it is fair enough! You can even make "double-decker" howdahs if desired. 10 would seem to be a practical upper limit, but there is nothing wrong with 20-30 even!

If a Skink Character riding a Stegadon is fighting a challenge, do you randomise the hits? Does the Stegadon fight in the challenge?

No and no. The skink Character has jumped down from the howdah to battle to the death with his

opponent.

When coldblooded creatures are called upon to make a Ld test with something that states "use 3 dice" do they use 3 or 4 (since they normally use 3)?

They still use 3 dice. This is another case of magic beating the mundane.4) Also, if the magically induced test dictates the use of "2d6" do coldblooded creatures still use 3d6?

Again, the magical effect will override the normal rules which apply to the lizardmen. Use 2 dice.

If a skink character rides a stegadon, is the stegadon's cost paid for out of character points or regimental points?

Pay for the actual stegadon from the regiments.

When firing a bolt thrower at a skink/kroxigor unit, where does the shot go?

Randomize between the Skinks & Krozigor as normal. If a Skink is hit, randomly determine which one to see if the next target will be another Skink or a Kroxigor.

Skink armor saves cannot be modified by the strength. Wood Elf bows give a -1 to save, but not from

strength. Does this -1 affect the save?

No. They always save on a 6.

Magic Items and Spells

There are many items which "kill" target (Master Rune of Death, Hellfire Sword, etc) but do not specify that the target must be a living model. Should "slain", "dead", etc be also interpreted as destroyed (like in the case of a war machine)?

Yes. Treat all "killed" or "dead" results as "destroyed." Some magic weapons and spells are so powerful that they will rip apart or obliterate wood and steel as easily as flesh.

When casting a spell, must the player indicate his target when he declares the casting?

Yes. Though the rules do not state so specifically, it generally accepted as good practice and sportsmanship to do so. Players who emphatically stick to their guns and claim they do not have to give a target are not very pleasant individuals and should be made fun of whenever possible.

Who strikes first when you charge with a double-handed weapon and, say, the Helm of Many Eyes (always strike first)?

You have to roll a D6 each time the situation occurs, to see which item "wins out" in that case. Magic items will always take precedence over non-magic abilities though.

A wizard who is normally immune to psychology makes a bad roll on the Potion of Knowledge. Is he

affected by stupidity even though he is normally immune? (Liches for example)

This actually brings up quite an interesting general Warhammer rule of thumb. That is the idea that a magical effect overrides a non-magical ability or effect. This most commonly occurs when a magic item allows double handed weapon armed troops to strike first, even before assassins do. In this case, the rule of thumb means that the model will still suffer from stupidity. *Ja tätä on sittemmin täsmennetty näin:* Magical item special rules override mundane *weapon* rules. Magical items override other special rules that come into conflict with them only if the result is 'bad' for the user of the magic item. So, for example, the effect of the Potion Of Knowledge will effect a mage who is immune to psychology, as this is bad for the user of the item, but the Dread Banner will not effect an *enemy* unit that is immune to psychology, as this would not be bad for the user of the item (in fact it

would be very good!) Please note that this is a guideline only, but it should help resolve most situations that occur in the correct 'spirit of the game'.

Talisman of Ravensdark/Scarecrow banner/etc - Do creatures which can fly, but are not (using legs to

charge) still be effected by these?

Yes - these items effect all creatures capable of flight, regardless of their current mode of movement.

If a unit in on a hill that is effected by Assault of Stone, are they effected by the spell?

Yep!

If a unit is moved via magic to engage an enemy unit in Close Combat, does the unit being "charged" get it's normal charge responses? What about if the unit is moved via a teleportation effect (not just a magical movement across the battlefield)?

Tässä asiassa studiolta tuntuu löytyvän monenlaisia mielipiteitä.Turnauksessa käytetään seuraavaa variaatiota: Charge responses are allowed as normal only for magical movement which specifically states so, like Van Hel's Dance Macabre.

Evil Sunz Banner is not listed in the Magic Standards - is this still "legal", or is it indeed gone?

It is indeed no more.

If a unit is "Held Fast", and fails a break check in H2H, is it automatically destroyed? Ditto for a unit frozen by a White Dragon & other "unit cannot move" situations.

Yes, but White Dwarf 206 updates the White Dragon Breath rules.

If a fleeing unit is hit with a "cannot move"effect, and is charged whilst held fast, is it destroyed?

Yes.

If you take an item that allows you to cast spells (not a bound spell item), are you now a Wizard for

purposes of taking Wizard Arcana?

No, as they lack the rigorous training required to master these items.

For Battle Magic spells - if you're dealt more than 1 of the same spell, can you cast it more than once (ie., if you're dealt 2 Fireballs, can you cast each Fireball once in that turn, for 2 total Fireballs?)

Yes, exactly so. What are you guys?

Depending on the printing the Banner of Arcane Protection, it effects

a)Undead and Daemons

b)Undead and Wizards

c)Daemons and Wizards.

d)The Magician’s Birthday

Which is right?

The banner will affect Undead and Daemons. If you have any other version, be an honest man (come on Undead players!) and make the correction.

If I double my attacks (eg frenzy, Spider Banner, Skavenbrew) what happens if I double them again. Can I double a double? If I have frenzy and Spider banner do I quadruple my attacks?

No you can't double a double using magic, spells, frenzy or anything. The best you can get is a straight double. Anything on top of that has no effect.

Can I distribute hits from a Hydra Sword amongst several models or do all the hits have to be on one model? If a weapon multiplies hits then a single hit struck against a specific model becomes a multiple of hits against the same model. If you have several attacks you can split these between any targets in base contact, so you could inflict one or more hits on several targets before multiplying up each hit.

Do I really have to take a Potion of Strength at the start of my own turn? Can I not take it at the start of either player's turn, the start of combat, etc?

Yes you really do have to use it at the start of your own turn and not any other time - not in the middle of hand-to hand combat as players often do! At 10 points it's excellent value but the downside is you have to commit to using it at the start of your turn, which can mean you waste it (if you charge and your opponent flees for example).

I use the Black Gem of Gnar to pin an enemy champion or another model in a unit. Can the rest of the unit move or is it locked in place because the champion cannot move.

Once you use the Black Gem, the affected models are effectively removed from the game and are ignored. You might wish to literally remove them whilst the effect lasts - it makes no difference. The rest of the unit is free to move and fight normally. In the case of a champion or a trooper from a unit, this can mean he is stranded from his unit when the effect of the Black Gem wears off. Treat the model as a single character, but you must attempt to re-unite him with his unit if possible. He is ignored for calculating Victory Points - if the rest of his unit is destroyed the entire unit is deemed destroyed for purposes of Victory Points.
 
 

Seuraavia WD 222:ssa julkaistun 'Magic revisited'-artikkelin mukaisia muutoksia noudatetaan turnauksessa:

Armour of Brilliance - Bretonnia only

Cloak of Shadows - Skaven only

Sword of Justice - Empire only

Sword of Teclis - High Elves only

The Silver Seal - Empire only

Executioner's Axe - Dark Elves only. In addition, the rule should read '...if any dice roll made to wound is a 6, the Executioner's Axe has killed outright, in which case no armour saves are allowes.' A 6 is required on the wound roll and not on the hit roll as stated on the card.

Mork's War Banner - Wizards in contact with the unit are killed on the d6 roll of a 4 or more and not automatically as stated on the card. Make this roll as soon as the wizard touches the unit, and subsequently at the start of each of the wizards turns if he is still touching.

The Book of Secrets - The reduction of the caster's profile should be at the opposing player's discretion and not the player himself. The enemy rolls the dice and decides which characteristics to reduce. If the wizard rides a horse, monster or chariot, reducing the rider's movement does not affect his movement. Once a characteristic has been reduced it cannot be 'healed' or regained - the caster has not taken wounds but his base level characteristic has changed permanently. Note that no characteristic can be reduced to '0' unless there is no other option - in which case players will inevitably choose wounds to 'kill' the caster.

Plaque of Dominion - One use only. You can only use it once per battle and not every turn as described on the card.

Cloak of Shadow - The Cloak cannot cover a chariot, machine or mount of any kind, and is therefore of use only to models on foot. Add the note 'Models on Foot Only'. This rule applies to all three 'cloak items' as follows. (Mage-Priest kantotuoleineen ja Sauruksineen ei ole 'model on foot'. Eikä ole vaunussa seisoskeleva sankarikaan, ihan vain näin helppouden vuoksi.)

Cloak of Mists and Shadows - The Cloak cannot cover a chariot, machine or mount of any kind, and is therefore of use only to models on foot. Add the note 'Models on Foot Only'.

Cloak of Feathers - Is 'One Use Only' i.e. you can only use it once per battle and not every turn as described on the card.The Cloak cannot cover a chariot, machine or mount of any kind, and is therefore of use only to models on foot. Add the note 'Models on Foot Only'.

Aldred's Casket of Sorcery - The correct points value is 50 and not 25 as stated on the card.

Sword of Destruction - Chaos Rewards are not negated by magic effects that would normally negate magic items (as explained in Realms of Chaos). This is because many are physical attributes that can't strictly be cancelled out. However, the combination of Sword of Destruction and Chaos rewards is horrible to contemplate. In this case Chaos Rewards are affected by the Sword of Destruction, and a character with Chaos rewards cannot carry the weapon. The card should therefore read 'The wielder may carry no other magic items, not even Chaos Rewards, as they would be destroyed by the sword's power.'

The Rune of Disguise - Only works on a machine that is stationary. Once a machine moves the effect ends. There are two ways of representing this rune. The first way is to place the model on the table and announce to your opponent that it has the Rune of Disguise and can't be seen. The second way is to make a rough map showing where the machine is deployed, the machine is placed on the table in the position indicated when you wish to shoot or move. Both methods are equally acceptable but the latter is heaps more fun.

The Rune of Burning - Can be employed on any war machine that fires a shot including cannons.

Ja sitten vielä lätinää suomeksi:

WD 206:ssa julkaistun 'Here be dragons'-artikkelin mukaisesti valkoiset lohikäärmeet eivät jäädytä uhrejaan automaattisesti, ainoastaan kohteen epäonnistuessa Ld-testissä.

Aldred's Casket of Sorcery voi varastaa yhden taian/täysi kierros, eli jos varastat taian vaikkapa omassa movement phasessasi, voit seuraavan kerran varastaa taian aikaisintaan seuraavassa omassa movement phasessasi.

Skitterleap-taikaa voi käyttää vain omaan armeijaan kuuluviin yksittäisiin olentoihin, jotka voivat normaalisti erota yksiköstään. Siis ei skavenslaveja, Screaming Bellejä tms.

Pursue: takaa-ajettu yksikkö tuhoutuu, mikäli takaa-ajajan nopanheitto tuottaa suuremman tuloksen. Takana oleva yksikkö, vaikeakulkuinen maasto tai muut vastaavat ilmiöt eivät pelasta tältä.

Sankarin liittyminen jo lähitaistelussa olevaan yksikköön on sallittua vain silloin, kun sankari pystyisi muutenkin rynnäköimään lähitaisteluun ts. normaalit säännöt lähitaisteluun pääsemisestä pätevät myös.

Infiltrointi on sallittua ihan avoimellekin maastolle - voidaan olettaa Väijy-Veikkojen kaivaneen piilokuoppia koko yön - mutta ei siis paikkoihin, jotka ovat jonkun vihulaisen 90 asteen näköalueella.

Pakenevat yksiköt eivät ota Panic- eivätkä Terror-testejä.

Lähitaisteluvaiheessa aiheutetut paniikkitestit - myös kenraalin kuolemasta johtuva - otetaan vasta, kun kaikki erilliset taistelut on käyty.

Päätös vastaloitsun (dispel) yrittämisestä tehdään ennen taian kantaman mittaamista, paitsi jos molemmat pelaajat haluavat pelata toisin…

Pelin alussa on suotavaa käyttää hetki yhteisymmärryksen saavuttamiseen maaston ominaisuuksista, line-of-sight- tulkinnoista ja muista varsin todennäköisesti pelin aikana esille nousevista asioista, joissa pelaajien tottumukset ovat erilaisia.

Yleisesti ottaen kannattaa huomioida, että mikäli jokin hilavitkutinyhdistelmä tuntuu pelin automaattisesti voittavalta, tulkinnassa on luultavasti jotain vikaa. Kysymyksiä sopii esittää.
 
 

Seuraavat vastaukset ovat WD:n Q&A-palstalta, uusituista armybookeista, GW:n Studiolta muuta kautta saatuja tai muuten vaan niin yleisiä kysymyksiä, että olemme pykänneet vastauksia välttyäksemme toistuvien kysymysten laumalta. On siellä jotain uuttakin, vilkaiskaa siis toki.

Is a regiment's standard captured if the enemy is wiped out to a last man in hand-to-hand combat?

Yes, as long as the victorious regiment would have normally been able to pursue the unit (not engaged in combat with another regiment, for example). If so, the standard is lost.

If a Necromancer, who is not immune to psychology, is leading a unit of Undead that is, does he still have to take break tests and where does he go if he fails?

Characters who join a unit which is immune to psychology, break test or whatever are still subject to the psychology rules themselves. If they are forced to flee they will run away as normal, the rest of the unit will remain where it is. Ja näinhän siis Vampire Counts-armeijat eivät toimi, vaan oman kirjansa sääntöjen mukaan.

When a cannon fires and the shot lands in front of a Disc of Tzeentch, does the shot bounce up and hit the Disc?

Yes, riding a Disc of Tzeentch doesn't imbue a character with a mystical protection from cannons, in the same way that models which fly can also be hit.

In Warhammer, can a character on their own charge in any direction you like?

What if they are mounted, or riding a monster?

Just like everybody else, characters can only charge a target they can see. In Warhammer, regiments and individual models can only see 90 degrees to their front, so if a unit is outside this arc they are safe.

With a Daemonette riding a Steed of Slaanesh, which Toughness value do you use? Is it the Daemonette's Toughness 3 or the Steed's Toughness 4?

As with any cavalry model, only the mount's Movement is used unless it has its own attacks, in which case its Attacks and Weapon Skill characteristics are also used. The Steed of Slaanesh's higher Toughness confers no benefit to its rider and is given for comparative purposes.

Is it possible to get an armour saving throw better than 1+?

No! Anything (ie magic items, wargear, steeds, etc) which increases a model's armour save can never

increase it to greater than 1+, under any circumstances whatsoever. (With one exception, of course.)

If I have no wizards (or other spell casters) in Warhammer, do I still get dealt Magic cards?

Yes you do.

Do units held by the Net or Hold Fast spells take panic tests?

As there isn't any rule to cover this situation, we suggest you apply the following maxim: they don't take panic tests but if they lose a round of hand-to-hand combat and are broken, they are automatically destroyed.

Does a Wizard using a Book of Ashur gain any special abilities associated with the spell decks, like High Magic and Necromantic Magic?

No, the Book of Ashur simply allows access to High and Necromantic magic. The Wizard will not become a Necromancer or a High Magician.

Tämä tulkinta korvaa Warhammer Magicin selostuksen siitä, kuka on 'High Magic User', 'Necromancer' etc jaon siis merkittävä sääntömuutos. Sanotaan nyt vielä sekin, että Crown of Sorcery antaa kaikki Undead-kirjan mukaiset Necromancerin ominaisuudet ja Talisman of Hoeth High Magen ominaisuudet ja ei, niihin ominaisuuksiin ei kuulu lisää magic item-paikkoja. Ei.

If a character is armed with both the Executioner's Axe and the Helm of Many Eyes, does he always strike first?

This is one of those classic contradictions which is very easily resolved by using the "Irresistible Force and Immovable Object" rule, or, to put it another way, roll a dice for it!

There are three things that allow a unit to strike first in the first turn: Charging, Special Abilities (like Skaven Assassins), and Special Magic Items (Helm of Many Eyes). In subsequent turns, it would be Initiative, and the latter two. Then there are double-handed weapons too....When situations come up like this, who would go first?

Roll a D6 each time a situation comes up. Magic items will always take precedence over non-magic abilities though.Where magic items entitle both sides to strike first then the card usually includes a note to the effect that the highest initiative takes priority, resorting to a dice roll where this is equal. Consider this as a general rule in such cases.

There are some monsters not listed in the new Battle Book Bestiary which appear in other books IE.,

Lammasu, Great Taurus, etc. Are they subject to the Bound rules (like, say, a Wyvern), or not Bound (like a Dragon)?

Assume all dragons are not subject to the Bound Monster Rules, but all other monsters not covered in the Beastiary are subject to them.

Hippogriffs are given different point values in different sources. Which value is correct.

145 points is correct in all cases.

A model charges down from Flying High to attack a model that causes Terror. The charging model fails its Terror Test. What does it do?

It lands on the ground where it was intending to & flees 3D6", towards their starting table edge if possible. The unit that was charged does not get to pursue.

Resolving attacks w/ units on flying stands. What is the base width of the flying stand? Do you assume that any models forward of the edges of the stand are "in contact" with the enemy, or is it the models in _actual_ physical contact (actually touching the flying stand)?

We roughly place the models into a line as close as we can, then assume the unit stretches between the extremities of the bases.

If the general is flying high and dies, does the army need to panic?

Yep! The sight of your general plummeting from the skies, a bloody wreck of flesh, is too much for most troops to bear!

Laid to Rest: In a Challenge, what determines who attacks first?

It's worked out as for a normal attack (charger goes first, unless he has a 2 handed weapon, etc).

When a template hits a unit in combat or a chariot, there are special rules that make it different from normal shooting. Even though cannons have no physical template, should the up to 10" path of the cannon be taken as a template?

This is a good one! It's not strictly covered in the rules, but around the offices and in the studio we take the pathof a cannon to be one long template. If in doubt, imagine the template to be the width of a range ruler or normal tape measurer (about one quarter inch wide) and as long as the path the ball takes from its initial bounce to the point it comes to rest. If the path crosses, for example, two horses and the yoke of a chariot, then roll to wound each horse and the chariot.

In the commentary on the rules (page110) it says that rank bonus is lost for the entire combat if the unit is flanked. If I lap round, thus negating my opponent's rank bonus, and he later beats me (forcing me to get my "lappers" back into formation),is his rank bonus still gone for the duration of the combat?

There's a bit of a misunderstanding here. Ranks bonus is only negated when a unit is actually charged in the flank, not merely when a unit is lapped round. Be sure to read the book carefully. Distinctions like this are often present, but overlooked.

In Warhammer, because of modifiers to the hand to hand to hit roll and other circumstances such as

defending an obstacle, an attacker could require a to hit roll of 7+ or more. Does this mean that the defender cannot be hit?

This is a situation that did not come up in any play testing and so was left out of the rules in the interest of space. Since then, a number of magic items have been introduced which could make it impossible to strike blows against a model. If this situation comes up, use the shooting rules to hit. Therefor, a model which would only be hit on a 7+ (impossible on a d6), a 6, followed by a further 4+ is required. See page 28 of the Rulebook for a more detailed explanation.

Daemons are said to have magical attacks that can effect models that can normally only be hit by magic weapons. Are other creatures that have "magical" attacks able to do the same? Dryads are a good example of this.

No. Only attacks which are specifically detailed as being able to affect creatures like ghosts, wraiths, and the like are able to do so. A bit of background that describes the attack or model as magical just isn't enough.

Is there anything stopping an allied character from joining a unit from the main army?

There is a strong smell of cheddar here! While there is nothing technically stopping this, it was never the intention of the rules to allow this. Normally when players do this it is with the idea of trying to get around some other rule. Be warned! If players in your group are doing this, they probably have some other, not quite illegal tricks up their sleeves.

Orcs and Goblins

If I use the Orks' Waaagh magic spell Hand Of Gork to move a Night Goblin regiment containing Fanatics so that it ends up within 8" of an enemy unit, when and how do the Fanatics emerge?

The question comes about because the rules state that "Whatever the situation, whether it is your or your opponent's turn, as soon as the enemy approach within 8" you declare that your Fanatics are coming out! All movement is halted immediately. If a moving enemy has triggered the Fanatics then the enemy unit is halted at 8" away". The problem is, of course, that in the circumstances described above, the two units are never exactly 8" apart...

Sometimes a situation arises when it is impossible to release the Fanatics while the two units are exactly 8" apart. For example, a flying model may swoop down from flying high and appear next to the Goblins, or the Goblins may be transported across the battlefield by the Hand of Gork spell and appear closer than 8" to an enemy unit.

Under such circumstances you should place the Fanatics on the table after the magically teleporting unit, diving creature, or whatever, has been placed.

Normally you would now nominate the direction the Fanatics are heading in, and resolve their movement. However, if the unit triggering the Fanatics (or the Goblins holding them) suddenly appear, then roll the Scatter dice to see which direction they move in, instead of choosing where you want them to head. The Fanatics still move 2D6", but do so in the direction indicated by the Scatter dice. This represents the fact that the Fanatics are so disorientated by the sudden appearance of the enemy that they set off too quickly and lose all sense of direction immediately (though they don't have much of one to lose)!

If the Fanatics' random move takes them into an enemy unit then they will cause damage as normal, and they will also damage any friendly unit they smash into (for those of you who don't know, each Fanatic that hits a unit inflicts D6 S5 hits with no armour saving throw allowed!). The only exception to this is if the random move takes a Fanatic back through its own unit. In this case the Fanatic passes through its own unit without causing any damage - it's assumed that the Fanatic actually launched himself out of the other side of the unit and headed off in completely the wrong direction from the start! Note that if a Fanatic smashes into its parent unit later, then it will damage the unlucky Gobbos as normal.

I have a question about Warhammer Snotling pump wagons. Are they affected by psychology, or are they immune like normal Snotling bases?

Snotling pump wagons have a crew of a single Snotling stand for the purposes of fighting and taking wounds, but they are not affected by the Mimic rules. This is pretty obviously really, as it would stop the pump wagon moving freely. The rules state that the pump wagon acts like any other chariot except where noted, which means they cannot march move (their movement is random anyway) they are subject to psychology and must take break tests as normal.

My friend's Snotling Pump Wagon seems to have a mind of its own, manoeuvring all round the battlefield during their move. Can they really do this?

No, Pump Wagons always move in a straight line. You can turn them in the direction you want them to go in at the start of their move but no manoeuvring beyond that!

If a Night Goblin Shaman is more than 12" away from an Orc or Goblin Mob and gobbles a piece of

mushroom does he still have to make a Waaagh! test to control the magic?

With no units within 12", the dice roll needed to pass a Waaagh! test is 1, so it's impossible to fail. As stated, eating mushrooms does not increase your chances of failing Waaagh! test (only the consequences if you do!). This means that by eating mushrooms alone (no units within 12"), your Night Goblin Shaman cannot fail his Waaagh test so there isn't really any point in taking one.

Orc and Goblin units can have Black Orc Big Bosses as leaders. Can they include Black Orc Bosses as well?

No. Bosses are always of the same race as the unit. This, however does not stop you from putting Black Orc Big Bosses or War Bosses in units of other types of Greenskins.

I've noticed that there are Savage Orc Boyz models available with spears, but you can't buy spears for them in the army list. Can they have spears or not?

We've now added spears to the Savage Orc Boyz listing in the current army book. You can now give spears to Savage Orcs at a cost of +1 points per model.

Can a Giant pluck a man-sized guy off of other bits (monsters, chariots, Screaming Bell, horse, Juggernought, Disc of Tzeentch)?

No. Any model which is all one thing, all one model, is not able to be affected by this attack. A crewman for a cannon or similar war machine could be picked out, but a crewman on a chariot cannot be.

Can an Orc/Goblin army have more than one Warlord? There is no "1" noted by the title as in other books...

No, just 1.

For special Goblin units that state a "Goblin Mobz" unit must be taken to take the special unit (like Doom Divers), would anything but "vanilla" gobbos count? Or would say a Night Gobbo unit count?

Only regular Gobbos. Which includes Wolf Boyz.

Dark Elves

Much to our dismay there were a few minor errors in Warhammer Armies - Dark Elves, which slipped through the editing net. To set the record straight here are the corrections:

In several places the text for the Cauldron of Blood states that it is tended by a Hag Queen, called the Keeper of the Cauldron. Note however, the Keeper actually has the profile of a Witch Elf Champion, nor may she take a Magic Item as the Cauldron of Blood is enough...

There are several differing profiles for the Har Ganeth Executioners in the Bestiary, Army List and Reference section. The correct profile for Har Ganeth Executioners is different from other Dark Elf elite troops and should be:

M WS BS S T W I A Ld

554 4 3 1 6 1 8

The rules on page 54 state that you may include up to one Repeater Bolt Thrower for each regiment of ten or more "Dark Elf Warriors or Black Ark Corsairs". This should also include Spearmen, Crossbowmen and City Guard.

In my copy of the Dark Elf book, the Repeater bolt thrower costs 50 points but it costs 100 points in my opponents High Elf Book. Why the difference?

The original cost of the Repeater bolt throwers (50 points) has proven to be far too cheap over the years, so when the new High Elf book was released, we decided to correct the point costs of both Dark Elf and High Elf bolt throwers at the same time. As we reprint the Dark Elf book the new cost will be of 100 points (and cheap at twice the price!)

The Blood Banner

The Blood Banner Magic Standard is listed as having a points value of 50. This should be amended to a points value of 10!

Can a Dark Elf Corsair Champion be given a Sea Dragon Cloak?

The Sea Dragon Cloak was missed off the Equipment List. It should be available (for Corsair Champions only) at a cost of 5 points.

What is the correct Leadership for a Harpy? Is it 8 as stated in the Chaos army list, or 6 as stated

elsewhere?

6.

Skaven

What happens to a Giant Rat/Rat Ogre unit when you lose enough Packmasters to get below the 6-1 ratio?

Nothing, aside from the leaderless Giant Rats/Rat Ogres having to use their own Leadership if all Packmasters are dead!

Do Skaven Plague Censer Bearers have to test to see if they are poisoned by their censers every turn, or just when they are in combat?

Only when they're in combat.

Can Skaven Plague Censer Bearers have Champions?

No.

Is a shot from a Skaven Warpstone Jezzail considered to be magical?

Yes it is. The same goes for all Skaven warpstone weaponry including jezzails, warpfire thrower, assassin weeping blades, warplock pistol, poison wind globes, plague censers, and warp lightning from a Doomwheel.

Wood Elves

Is the Dryads save modifiable by shooting, hand-to-hand combat, etc.?

There are effectively two types of save. First is the 'Armour save', which can be modified and the second is the 'Special save' which isn't modified. Dryads have a Special save.

Wood Elf Glade Riders do a Feigned Flight, but result in running off the board, ditto Pursuers. Are the Glade Riders then destroyed? We can't think of how to bring them back onto the board with out the Pursuing unit touching them, as the Riders can't move from the spot when they are normally placed back on the board.

Strictly speaking, they aren't fleeing, so they are not destroyed. I would place the Glade Riders 1" from the pursuers on the table edge on their return.

Wardancers using Storm of Blades. Do all of members of the unit get to attack the designated enemy, or just the ones who are actually touching the enemy unit?

Only those in base contact.

High Elves

Do White Lions get their normal attacks in addition to their special attack or is it that their special attack is their attack?

White Lions still roll 1 die to attack regardless of which of their special attacks they are using.

Bretonnia

What are the Laws of Chivalry as they apply to losing the Blessing of the Lady of the Lake? Or can the Blessing simple never be lost?

The latter - the Bretonnian player is assumed to have demonstrated sufficiently chivalrous behavior already.

In the Bretonnian lance formation, who is considered to be actually touching the foe? We know that the outer edge can attack, but does this mean that, since the models themselves are not in contact things like the Talon of Death will not work? Would it be best to assume that the models who got to attack the enemy are considered to be touching the enemy ahead of them?

Yes, assume any figures in combat are in base to base contact for all purposes.

Undead

Does the -1 to hit a Zombie Dragon in combat apply to its rider as well?

Yes. A model which is in contact with the Zombie Dragon is taken to be fighting it. Therefore, the -1 to hit applies to any attack the model makes for as long as he remains in contact with the beast.

The Undead Book explains the Necromancy spells in greater detail than Warhammer Magic. Curse of Years does not affect non-living targets. Summoning spells can raise catapults and fix chariots (good thing too with the low toughness!). Warhammer Magic makes no mention of this. Are the expanded entries in the Undead Book still valid?

Yes, unless they contradict Warhammer Magic. This means that catapults can still be raised and the Vermin Lord is safe from the Curse of Years. You Undead players should be good sports and let your opponents read your book!

Spell Allocation for the Undead: Undead Wizards can draw from 3 different decks (Battle, Dark,

Necromantic). What are their options? Draw _all_ spells from 1 deck. Aside from the Beastmen Shamans, all wizards draw spells from a single deck.

When summoning undead, 5 models must be created to form a new unit. Cavalry count as 2 models. Does this mean I need to roll a 10 on the dice, or just 6 (to see how many I summon)?

In this case, the number needed is 10. You must be able to summon at least 5 complete models, not just 5 "models worth." Cavalry count as two models, so a roll of 10 still only gets you 5 models, but 5 must be summoned. Screaming Skull Catapults and chariots are exceptions. You need only summon one complete model (including its crew) to succeed in summoning new catapults and chariots.

Empire

Flagellants, halflings, Empire dwarfs, and ogres have no champions. Can a human champion who is properly armed and equipped join these units and lead them?

In theory yes, as long as the champion is able to select all the required equipment that the unit he is leading has. Some unscrupulous players may try to use this rule to give some hideous advantage to these troops that was never intended. While it is technically legal game play, it should be discouraged.

Do the rules about a detachment using parent unit leadership scores apply to skirmished detachments? That is to say, can a skirmished bow detachment use the Ld of a parent Halberd unit?

No. Skirmishers are totally unable to benefit from the Leadership value of nearby detachments. Their scattered and hectic formation is not well suited to being commanded by others.

Detachments for the Empire: Wording states the detachment may take any Ld based tests on the Ld value of the parent regiment, including any bonuses that apply for standards, magic items, & so forth. Does this mean "bonuses" to the value (like the Crown of Command raising the value to 10) or to all attendant special effects that in some way relate to Ld? (ala the Dread Banner - would it make the Detachment also cause Fear as well? Magic Items that directly effect the Leadership of the main unit will also affect the detachment units. Only the numerical leadership value applies to the splinter units in a detachment. Other factors affecting the leadership of the parent unit including banners, fear, etc. will make no difference. Other items will not affect other detachment units as the detached units are considered to be separate units for all other purposes. If the parent unit has the Crown of Command, detached units can use the Ld of 10, but it will be modified as normal. Only the actual parent unit with the Crown gets the unmodified 10 Ld.

Dwarves and Dwarven Runes

Can the Master Rune of Flight pick out characters in units?

Yes. Nasty indeed!

Do Engineering runes make the war machine they are on magical?

Yes. This really should be a house rule only and should be agreed upon prior to the game.

Tässä turnauksessa ovat maagisia.

Do Engineering runes make the shots of war machines they are on magical?

The Rune of Burning does, yes. In all other cases no. As above, this should really be a house rule.

Tässä turnauksessa pelataan näin.

Are war machines with Runes on them "Magic Weapons?"

No. Even if your group or club agrees that the machines are to be treated as magical in nature, they should not be treated as "magic weapons." This means that other magic items which negate magic weapons will not negate or destroy these war machines.

Can the sword of destruction negate Engineering Runes?

Yes. The Sword of Destruction is not specific to magic weapons, so that is fine. Again, this assumes you play by the house rule that runes make a war machine itself magical.

The Dwarf Flame Cannon is listed as having a range of both 12" and 24". Which is correct?

12".

The Dwarf Rune of Warding seems to give multiple dispels (one per ward). Is this correct, or does the

overall rule of no more than 1 dispel allowed overrule that?

It is an exception - I would perform this type of dispel by rolling all the dice for the runes all at once (ie., 3 dice for 3 runes of warding), so that it still "feels" like a single dispel.

Dwarf dispells: Against regular magic, the "base" value is a 4+.

Against High Magic spells, is it still a 4+ or is it 5+?

4+

Same subject - can Dwarfs add power cards to boost their dispells?

Yes, just like any other army in the situation without any Wizards.

Chaos

In the new Realm of Chaos supplement, Hellblades are described as causing d3 hits in one place and d3 wounds in another. Which is correct?

D3 Wounds. (bloody editorial mistake!).

How many Wounds does a Chaos Hound have?

Just the one.

What is the correct Leadership for a Harpy? Is it 8 or 6?

6.

In the new Realm of Chaos supplement the description for the Chaos Reward Breathe Fire states that it is used "in the same way as a dragon." Does this mean it can be used in hand to hand combat?

Yes. A follower of Chaos with this reward is "naturally" able to breath his flaming attack. He does not have a clumsy bow or other missile weapon to fiddle with and can just open up and say "ahhhh!"

The Crush attack of a Juggernought is phrased a bit differently than other "no save" attacks or attacks which "automatically wound." Does the wound inflicted bypass both the toughness roll and the armor save roll?

Yes. Such is the might of the Crush that no body or suit or army can withstand its fury!

Lizardmen

Can Salamanders Move & Fire? Ditto Stand & Shoot as a Charge Response?

Yes for both. Remember that standing & shooting is worked out before chargers move, or as soon as they move into range.

Is there any sort of governing/guiding principle for the number of skinks on a stegadon?

As long as each Skink has enough space to stand up then it is fair enough! You can even make "double-decker" howdahs if desired. 10 would seem to be a practical upper limit, but there is nothing wrong with 20-30 even!

If a Skink Character riding a Stegadon is fighting a challenge, do you randomise the hits? Does the Stegadon fight in the challenge?

No and no. The skink Character has jumped down from the howdah to battle to the death with his

opponent.

When coldblooded creatures are called upon to make a Ld test with something that states "use 3 dice" do they use 3 or 4 (since they normally use 3)?

They still use 3 dice. This is another case of magic beating the mundane.4) Also, if the magically induced test dictates the use of "2d6" do coldblooded creatures still use 3d6?

Again, the magical effect will override the normal rules which apply to the lizardmen. Use 2 dice.

If a skink character rides a stegadon, is the stegadon's cost paid for out of character points or regimental points?

Pay for the actual stegadon from the regiments.

When firing a bolt thrower at a skink/kroxigor unit, where does the shot go?

Randomize between the Skinks & Krozigor as normal. If a Skink is hit, randomly determine which one to see if the next target will be another Skink or a Kroxigor.

Skink armor saves cannot be modified by the strength. Wood Elf bows give a -1 to save, but not from

strength. Does this -1 affect the save?

No. They always save on a 6.

Magic Items and Spells

There are many items which "kill" target (Master Rune of Death, Hellfire Sword, etc) but do not specify that the target must be a living model. Should "slain", "dead", etc be also interpreted as destroyed (like in the case of a war machine)?

Yes. Treat all "killed" or "dead" results as "destroyed." Some magic weapons and spells are so powerful that they will rip apart or obliterate wood and steel as easily as flesh.

When casting a spell, must the player indicate his target when he declares the casting?

Yes. Though the rules do not state so specifically, it generally accepted as good practice and sportsmanship to do so. Players who emphatically stick to their guns and claim they do not have to give a target are not very pleasant individuals and should be made fun of whenever possible.

Who strikes first when you charge with a double-handed weapon and, say, the Helm of Many Eyes (always strike first)?

You have to roll a D6 each time the situation occurs, to see which item "wins out" in that case. Magic items will always take precedence over non-magic abilities though.

A wizard who is normally immune to psychology makes a bad roll on the Potion of Knowledge. Is he

affected by stupidity even though he is normally immune? (Liches for example)

This actually brings up quite an interesting general Warhammer rule of thumb. That is the idea that a magical effect overrides a non-magical ability or effect. This most commonly occurs when a magic item allows double handed weapon armed troops to strike first, even before assassins do. In this case, the rule of thumb means that the model will still suffer from stupidity. *Ja tätä on sittemmin täsmennetty näin:* Magical item special rules override mundane *weapon* rules. Magical items override other special rules that come into conflict with them only if the result is 'bad' for the user of the magic item. So, for example, the effect of the Potion Of Knowledge will effect a mage who is immune to psychology, as this is bad for the user of the item, but the Dread Banner will not effect an *enemy* unit that is immune to psychology, as this would not be bad for the user of the item (in fact it

would be very good!) Please note that this is a guideline only, but it should help resolve most situations that occur in the correct 'spirit of the game'.

Talisman of Ravensdark/Scarecrow banner/etc - Do creatures which can fly, but are not (using legs to

charge) still be effected by these?

Yes - these items effect all creatures capable of flight, regardless of their current mode of movement.

If a unit in on a hill that is effected by Assault of Stone, are they effected by the spell?

Yep!

If a unit is moved via magic to engage an enemy unit in Close Combat, does the unit being "charged" get it's normal charge responses? What about if the unit is moved via a teleportation effect (not just a magical movement across the battlefield)?

Tässä asiassa studiolta tuntuu löytyvän monenlaisia mielipiteitä.Turnauksessa käytetään seuraavaa variaatiota: Charge responses are allowed as normal only for magical movement which specifically states so, like Van Hel's Dance Macabre.

Evil Sunz Banner is not listed in the Magic Standards - is this still "legal", or is it indeed gone?

It is indeed no more.

If a unit is "Held Fast", and fails a break check in H2H, is it automatically destroyed? Ditto for a unit frozen by a White Dragon & other "unit cannot move" situations.

Yes, but White Dwarf 206 updates the White Dragon Breath rules.

If a fleeing unit is hit with a "cannot move"effect, and is charged whilst held fast, is it destroyed?

Yes.

If you take an item that allows you to cast spells (not a bound spell item), are you now a Wizard for

purposes of taking Wizard Arcana?

No, as they lack the rigorous training required to master these items.

For Battle Magic spells - if you're dealt more than 1 of the same spell, can you cast it more than once (ie., if you're dealt 2 Fireballs, can you cast each Fireball once in that turn, for 2 total Fireballs?)

Yes, exactly so. What are you guys?

Depending on the printing the Banner of Arcane Protection, it effects

a)Undead and Daemons

b)Undead and Wizards

c)Daemons and Wizards.

d)The Magician’s Birthday

Which is right?

The banner will affect Undead and Daemons. If you have any other version, be an honest man (come on Undead players!) and make the correction.

If I double my attacks (eg frenzy, Spider Banner, Skavenbrew) what happens if I double them again. Can I double a double? If I have frenzy and Spider banner do I quadruple my attacks?

No you can't double a double using magic, spells, frenzy or anything. The best you can get is a straight double. Anything on top of that has no effect.

Can I distribute hits from a Hydra Sword amongst several models or do all the hits have to be on one model? If a weapon multiplies hits then a single hit struck against a specific model becomes a multiple of hits against the same model. If you have several attacks you can split these between any targets in base contact, so you could inflict one or more hits on several targets before multiplying up each hit.

Do I really have to take a Potion of Strength at the start of my own turn? Can I not take it at the start of either player's turn, the start of combat, etc?

Yes you really do have to use it at the start of your own turn and not any other time - not in the middle of hand-to hand combat as players often do! At 10 points it's excellent value but the downside is you have to commit to using it at the start of your turn, which can mean you waste it (if you charge and your opponent flees for example).

I use the Black Gem of Gnar to pin an enemy champion or another model in a unit. Can the rest of the unit move or is it locked in place because the champion cannot move.

Once you use the Black Gem, the affected models are effectively removed from the game and are ignored. You might wish to literally remove them whilst the effect lasts - it makes no difference. The rest of the unit is free to move and fight normally. In the case of a champion or a trooper from a unit, this can mean he is stranded from his unit when the effect of the Black Gem wears off. Treat the model as a single character, but you must attempt to re-unite him with his unit if possible. He is ignored for calculating Victory Points - if the rest of his unit is destroyed the entire unit is deemed destroyed for purposes of Victory Points.
 
 

Seuraavia WD 222:ssa julkaistun 'Magic revisited'-artikkelin mukaisia muutoksia noudatetaan turnauksessa:

Armour of Brilliance - Bretonnia only

Cloak of Shadows - Skaven only

Sword of Justice - Empire only

Sword of Teclis - High Elves only

The Silver Seal - Empire only

Executioner's Axe - Dark Elves only. In addition, the rule should read '...if any dice roll made to wound is a 6, the Executioner's Axe has killed outright, in which case no armour saves are allowes.' A 6 is required on the wound roll and not on the hit roll as stated on the card.

Mork's War Banner - Wizards in contact with the unit are killed on the d6 roll of a 4 or more and not automatically as stated on the card. Make this roll as soon as the wizard touches the unit, and subsequently at the start of each of the wizards turns if he is still touching.

The Book of Secrets - The reduction of the caster's profile should be at the opposing player's discretion and not the player himself. The enemy rolls the dice and decides which characteristics to reduce. If the wizard rides a horse, monster or chariot, reducing the rider's movement does not affect his movement. Once a characteristic has been reduced it cannot be 'healed' or regained - the caster has not taken wounds but his base level characteristic has changed permanently. Note that no characteristic can be reduced to '0' unless there is no other option - in which case players will inevitably choose wounds to 'kill' the caster.

Plaque of Dominion - One use only. You can only use it once per battle and not every turn as described on the card.

Cloak of Shadow - The Cloak cannot cover a chariot, machine or mount of any kind, and is therefore of use only to models on foot. Add the note 'Models on Foot Only'. This rule applies to all three 'cloak items' as follows. (Mage-Priest kantotuoleineen ja Sauruksineen ei ole 'model on foot'. Eikä ole vaunussa seisoskeleva sankarikaan, ihan vain näin helppouden vuoksi.)

Cloak of Mists and Shadows - The Cloak cannot cover a chariot, machine or mount of any kind, and is therefore of use only to models on foot. Add the note 'Models on Foot Only'.

Cloak of Feathers - Is 'One Use Only' i.e. you can only use it once per battle and not every turn as described on the card.The Cloak cannot cover a chariot, machine or mount of any kind, and is therefore of use only to models on foot. Add the note 'Models on Foot Only'.

Aldred's Casket of Sorcery - The correct points value is 50 and not 25 as stated on the card.

Sword of Destruction - Chaos Rewards are not negated by magic effects that would normally negate magic items (as explained in Realms of Chaos). This is because many are physical attributes that can't strictly be cancelled out. However, the combination of Sword of Destruction and Chaos rewards is horrible to contemplate. In this case Chaos Rewards are affected by the Sword of Destruction, and a character with Chaos rewards cannot carry the weapon. The card should therefore read 'The wielder may carry no other magic items, not even Chaos Rewards, as they would be destroyed by the sword's power.'

The Rune of Disguise - Only works on a machine that is stationary. Once a machine moves the effect ends. There are two ways of representing this rune. The first way is to place the model on the table and announce to your opponent that it has the Rune of Disguise and can't be seen. The second way is to make a rough map showing where the machine is deployed, the machine is placed on the table in the position indicated when you wish to shoot or move. Both methods are equally acceptable but the latter is heaps more fun.

The Rune of Burning - Can be employed on any war machine that fires a shot including cannons.

Ja sitten vielä lätinää suomeksi:

WD 206:ssa julkaistun 'Here be dragons'-artikkelin mukaisesti valkoiset lohikäärmeet eivät jäädytä uhrejaan automaattisesti, ainoastaan kohteen epäonnistuessa Ld-testissä.

Aldred's Casket of Sorcery voi varastaa yhden taian/täysi kierros, eli jos varastat taian vaikkapa omassa movement phasessasi, voit seuraavan kerran varastaa taian aikaisintaan seuraavassa omassa movement phasessasi.

Skitterleap-taikaa voi käyttää vain omaan armeijaan kuuluviin yksittäisiin olentoihin, jotka voivat normaalisti erota yksiköstään. Siis ei skavenslaveja, Screaming Bellejä tms.

Pursue: takaa-ajettu yksikkö tuhoutuu, mikäli takaa-ajajan nopanheitto tuottaa suuremman tuloksen. Takana oleva yksikkö, vaikeakulkuinen maasto tai muut vastaavat ilmiöt eivät pelasta tältä.

Sankarin liittyminen jo lähitaistelussa olevaan yksikköön on sallittua vain silloin, kun sankari pystyisi muutenkin rynnäköimään lähitaisteluun ts. normaalit säännöt lähitaisteluun pääsemisestä pätevät myös.

Infiltrointi on sallittua ihan avoimellekin maastolle - voidaan olettaa Väijy-Veikkojen kaivaneen piilokuoppia koko yön - mutta ei siis paikkoihin, jotka ovat jonkun vihulaisen 90 asteen näköalueella.

Pakenevat yksiköt eivät ota Panic- eivätkä Terror-testejä.

Lähitaisteluvaiheessa aiheutetut paniikkitestit - myös kenraalin kuolemasta johtuva - otetaan vasta, kun kaikki erilliset taistelut on käyty.

Päätös vastaloitsun (dispel) yrittämisestä tehdään ennen taian kantaman mittaamista, paitsi jos molemmat pelaajat haluavat pelata toisin…

Pelin alussa on suotavaa käyttää hetki yhteisymmärryksen saavuttamiseen maaston ominaisuuksista, line-of-sight- tulkinnoista ja muista varsin todennäköisesti pelin aikana esille nousevista asioista, joissa pelaajien tottumukset ovat erilaisia.

Yleisesti ottaen kannattaa huomioida, että mikäli jokin hilavitkutinyhdistelmä tuntuu pelin automaattisesti voittavalta, tulkinnassa on luultavasti jotain vikaa. Kysymyksiä sopii esittää.


Image is Nothing.

Blood is Everything.

Obey your 'Thirster.